A great evening after a good day on the water, with the second of the frostbite series successfully completed.
The Ballroom was full with a big crowd of skippers and crew eager to enjoy the evening and the chance to learn who might be the Keelboat Sailor of the year. However the evening had tell the story of the wins and losses of the 2021 – 2022 season.

Commodore Michael Cook, accompanied by V. C. Stephen Grover and R. C. Troy Dalglish set off the proceedings with Sailing Captain Victoria Blankensee doing her share of the announcements as well. Immediate P.C John Midolo did the formal acknowledgement of country and turned over the proceedings to V.C. Crowbar to begin the evening.

The volunteers who had kept the season going all year were recognised for their efforts but the attention was going to be on the Sailor of the Year and that wasn’t going to be till the end of the night.

Through the divisions and classes they went and congratulations to the various overall winners and the separate presentations to the best crew members who had clearly earned their spots and recognition.

And finally the Sailor of the Year. Stand up the skipper who had been pushing very hard to see his boat and crew do everything possible on that SS 27. Off shore in a number of events, on the river, the Billy Run and even the Christmas event down at the Swinging Pig. Well done Matt Rose.

And finally a great feed put on by the caterers with Paella and Pizza for all. Plenty of beverages at the bar and as we slowly made our way home, it was another good night at the club. As usual, the H28’s were amongst the last to leave.

Cheers Rick Steuart

Full gallery at https://perthsailingphotography.weebly.com/2022-sopyc-keel-boat-prize-night.html