South of Perth Yacht Club was founded on 18 December 1945 with the official opening of the Clubhouse at Olives Reserve on 18 November 1946. Frank Sampson was appointed the first Commodore until 1949. In 1960 the club was relocated to where it now resides at Coffee Point on the western shore of the Canning River in Applecross.
To promote boating, the club offers a wide range of services for boat owners. These include undercover storage for racing dinghies, hard standing for trailer-able yachts and powerboats, water pens for boats to 25 metres, swing moorings and slipping facilities and an onsite chandlery “Coffee Point Marine Services”.
The Club has a fully-functional licensed restaurant, with some of Perth’s best views overlooking the Swan and Canning Rivers and a clear view of Perth city. The restaurant caters for lunch and dinner as well as special functions. Three bars meet the needs of members and their guests while two outside areas cater for informal al fresco dining and barbecues.
The South of Perth Yacht Club Sailing Academy is Australian Sailing accredited and offers a variety of courses in both sailing and power boating throughout the year.
Many Passions – One Club
The South of Perth Yacht Club is for members to pursue their interest in all forms of yachting and related activities safely, as part of a vibrant, participate community of like-minded people.
By 2020 SoPYC will:
- Be acknowledged as one of the most innovative clubs in all forms of yachting and related activities;
- Be at capacity;
- Be successful at all levels of competitive sailing and boating activities(sail and power);
- Have an inclusive atmosphere and a culture of cohesion and positive engagement;
- Be professionally managed, both as a club and as a business; and,
- Have high quality infrastructure and assets.
SoPYC’s future direction will be driven by and remain consistent with a set of core values that define it:
- Equality ;
- Accountability; and,