Troy and Dee Clean Up

Royal Perth Yacht Club hosted a fabulous Presentation evening for the Cruising and Power Yacht Committee last Friday.  Black chair covers closed with scarlet ribbon, treasure chests on every table and a sumptuous three-course meal made it an unforgettable evening.

At about the same time as Kyrgios was screaming at a tennis umpire “You’re delusional”, Regatta Control Officer Garry Morrison kept repeating the name “Dalusional” throughout the evening as trophy after trophy was collected by Troy Dalglish and Dee Kelly.

Starting with the five individual heat results, Dalusional placed first in three of them. In the Teams Competition, Troy and Dee were the leaders of the top placed South of Perth Yacht Club Team. Then came the Bob Stanford Trophy for the boat scoring the least number of points for the championship series and finally, the crowning of Dalusional as State Champion for 2018. What an astounding achievement!

Not that Troy and Dee were the only success stories on the night.  Jason Claricoates and Caroline James (North Star) topped off their season with second place on consistency.  A remarkable result for a crew competing in their first season of time trials and a great reward for their preparation and dedication.

Also second, this time in the championship, were John and Lynne Cooper on Purrfect.  The trifecta was completed by Thanet, Guy Skinner and Richard Evans finishing third in the championship, making it a clean sweep for South of Perth Yacht Club.

Although South of Perth Yacht Club has retained its position as the dominant force in time trials on the Swan River, the resurgent enthusiasm of Royal Perth Yacht Club, led by the dynamic duo of John and Deborah Allpike, threatens to challenge that supremacy in the years to come.

Introducing Patron Colin Cowden

The Patron’s Trophy last Saturday was the first opportunity for members to greet Colin Cowden in his new position as club Patron. Colin Cowden, a life member who has also served as commodore, attended his first public function to present pennants and trophies to the winners of the final consistency time trial for the 2018 season.

Ian and Ann Howard on Crystal C added their name to the trophy for the second time with a narrow win over Steve and Julie Leech, still relegated to their “rubber duck” until Chilly Mussel is restored to working order.

Fittingly, the two boats who have hogged the limelight in the past few weeks, Dalusional and Purrfect, shared least points lost, each recording just five points.

Next Saturday is closing day, and if things run true to form, your event committee will have organised some diabolical challenges…. ~ Bernie Kaaks ~